Showing Tag: "horror" (Show all posts)

"MASTERMINDS INCORPORATED: AN APPOINTMENT WITH FEAR" BY CHAD LEE ERWAY

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Monday, September 17, 2018, In : Book Reviews 




Wow!  The 5-star books just keep on coming!

This is a great book for kids and adults alike.  This fun horror-adventure was the perfect use of my time, and just the right amount of it, too; I couldn’t put it down, and read the whole thing in one sitting.  You can tell immediately an author who has fun with his work, and Chad clearly does that.  Entertaining and creative, with some genuinely quite scary moments, this is a book I would recommend very highly to middle-school kids and young-at-he...


Continue reading ...
 

"THE WAREHOUSE TOUR" BY K.A. CUMMINS

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Sunday, July 1, 2018, In : Book Reviews 




You know immediately within the first couple of paragraphs that this is standard cliched horror – or at least you think you do.  By the next paragraphs, it is also clearly obvious that it is classic YA or even teen fare, with the usual stereotypes of the popular girl and the high-school jock – basically all the things many horror fans like to see.  But this is where the similarities abruptly end. 

The first half of this book is atmospheric and gripping, with a nail-biting sense of menac...


Continue reading ...
 

"Only Human - Act One: The Pooka's Tales: Speak of the Devil" By Leigh Holland

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, October 27, 2017, In : Book Reviews 




I wasn’t sure what to expect from “Only Human: Act 1…”; the blurb is a little mysterious, hinting at a humorous, perhaps satirical journey with an ambiguous protagonist.  In reality, the book is actually quite a bit darker than I expected – though this is always welcome for my tastes – playing on themes of demonology, Hell on Earth and the Devil.  The concept is that a strange, shape-shifting mythological creature called a “Twyleth Teg” (I still don’t know what that is) is b...


Continue reading ...
 

"THE WYNDHAM WEREWOLF" By Fallacious Rose

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Monday, October 2, 2017, In : Book Reviews 


“The Wyndham Werewolf” is a collection of intriguing bedtime tales from the mysterious Fallacious Rose, an excellent author, as it turns out, with a great tongue and use of grammar – the book is copy-edited to perfection.

The short stories, downbeat and downplayed, yet strangely entrancing, are told in a soft yet menacing style.  Although not so on the surface, there is a sense of common theme running through them, though this may simply be the tone underlying them all.  Set in a sma...


Continue reading ...
 

"CORROSIVE" by J. Kariuki

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Sunday, July 23, 2017, In : Book Reviews 



This novella grabbed my attention, not because of the cover (which, if I’m honest, could really do with a complete reboot), but because of the blurb – the author sells the story very well with his synopsizing of it, and it intrigued me.

I have to say I was well impressed – the story grabbed me instantly, from the outset a mixture of mystery and repulsion; I couldn’t wait to get from one scene to the next, if only just to find out more.  The book is incredibly well written and edite...


Continue reading ...
 

"The Fear" by Rae Louise

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Monday, July 10, 2017, In : Book Reviews 


From very early on when reading this book, two things become immediately clear: first, this is a particularly formulaic horror book, and second, Rae knows her genre very well indeed.  It opens with a great, attention-grabbing, wince-inducing scene, which grips the reader firmly by the throat, in typical fashion, and, for those seeking a standard get-what-you-see supernatural horror thriller, it continues in the same vein relentlessly throughout.

“The Fear” is Rae Louise’s homage to the...


Continue reading ...
 

"DEVIL IN THE COUNTRYSIDE" by Cory Barclay

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, May 19, 2017, In : Book Reviews 




“Devil in the Countryside” is strange, in the respect that it deserves a huge amount of respect, while slightly disappointing in terms of its content.  By the blurb and the cover style, I was expecting a more conventional werewolf horror story; in fact, this was neither a werewolf tale as such, or part of the horror genre.  More accurate a description would be a Reformation-era whodunnit/political intrigue thriller, in the vein of “From Hell”, “The Name of the Rose”, or perhaps ...


Continue reading ...
 

"A TRINITY OF WICKED TALES - VOLUME 1: JILTED LOVE!" By Kyla Ross

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Sunday, February 5, 2017, In : Book Reviews 


A satisfying trio of dark cautionary tales in the style of Richard Laymon, the 'Trinity...' is good, well-crafted horror, from an author who clearly spends alot of time indulging in the genre - the stories are familiar, the characters stereotypically deranged and deliciously twisted.

I really enjoyed these three tales - each has a great sense of atmosphere, satisfying dialogue and a range of personalities which we have come to expect in such shorts, and would not realistically be found anyw...


Continue reading ...
 
 
LATEST BOOK REVIEWS:

***
Satire


****
Comedy


****
Comedy


****
Comedy


****
Fantasy


*****
Self Improvement


****
Action


****
Short Stories


***
Historical Fiction


*****
Children's


*****
Drama


****
Drama


*****
Political Thriller


***
Short Stories


****
Poetry


****
Historical Fiction


***
Autobiography


****
Philosophy


****
Thriller


****
YA / Fantasy


****
Children's


***
Suspense/Thriller


***
Sci-Fi/Fantasy


***
Adventure


****
Horror


****
Short Stories


****
Crime Drama


*****
Poetry


*****
Children's


****
Documentary


****
Historical Thriller


****
Fantasy


****
Horror


***
Comedy


***
Horror


*****
Comedy-Drama


*****
Historical Fiction


*****
War Memoir


****
Short Stories


*****
War Memoir


****
Real Life


*****
Comedy-Drama


***
Fantasy


****
Poetry


*****
Short Stories


***
Fantasy


*****
Business


***
Historical Fiction


***
Children's


*****
Poetry


***
Historical Fiction


*****
Science


***
Poetry


*****
Short Stories


*****
Self-Help


****
Fantasy


****
Self-Help


****
Short Stories


*****
Fantasy


***
Drama


****
Children's


****
Comedy


****
Biography


****
Short Stories


***
Supernatural


**
Documentary


****
Historical Fantasy


*****
Documentary


***½
Thriller


***
Non-Fiction


***
Crime Thriller

Tags

a-scholte abortion abuse action addiction afterlife ajay-shankar alejandro-de-gutierre alexander-the-great alphabet american-history ancient ancient-history animal-abuse animal-rescue animal-welfare anthology anthony-michaelides anthony-simola anti-hero anxiety arabian artificial-intelligence atlantis australia autobiography bereavement biography bittersweet bizarre blind bo-wu boats books borneo brian-kindall british business catholic cats chad-lee-erway childhood children's christ christianity christina-williams christopher-adam clinchandhill clint-thurmon coffee-break cognitive collection colonialism comedy corporate-crime cory-barclay coup creatures crime criminal-justice crm cruelty cynical dark data data-analytics david-donachie david-grad david-lee-fish demons detective diary dictatorship diet disability dog-rescue dogs drama drugs dwayne-gill dystopian ea-minin earthquake ecological educational egyptian emergency emmanuella-hristova emotional empire environmental espionage faith fallacious-rose family fantasy fiction fiona-green flash-fiction frances-bloom friendship frontier funny futuristic george-dalrymple george-koloukis glyn-haynie gm-o'connor god gods gory health health-and-fitness heartbreaking heather-beal henry-woodiss historical historical-fiction history holistic horror illustrated immigrants international internet ira irish j-kariuki jacinta-jade jennifer-macaire jesus jill-kearney john-simpson journal jungle justice ka-cummins kyla-ross lady-byrd laura-eckert laura-hergane laura-koerber legendary leigh-holland life lin-wilder lindsay-mccall lindsey-mccall lorna-brown loss lynne-renoir maria-luisa-lang marine-life martin-freznell mathematics matt-nagin medical medical-drama medieval melodrama memoir mermaids michael-a.-greco michael-irwin military mind mjl-evans monologue myrtle-brooks mystery mythical natural-disaster navy new-jersey new-york nick-dream non-fiction norman-aj-berisford northern-ireland novella nutrition observations oppression otherworld outback pablo-palazuelo persia personal-development pharaoh philosophy pirates platoon poetry political political-thriller prison pro-life psychology purgatory race rae-louise rainforest reading real-life redemption reference regime relationship religion religious remorse revolutionary richard-bunning richard-hacker robert-kingett roman romania rural sailing sailors satire sci-fi science seafaring self-confidence self-help sexual sexual-harassment short-stories sigal-haber sitcom slavery slice-of-life society sociopath soldier special-forces sports spy-thriller stage-fright stan-skrabut steve-bassett study superhero supernatural superstition surreal swashbuckling teamwork technology teen the-troubles theodor theological thriller time-travel tomi-farrell torture tough-guy tragedy true-story tv-shows undersea vampire venezuela ventskevitch veteran vietnam vietnam-war vigilante vince-rockston violent walt-sautter war war-memoir weight-loss well-being werewolf western wildlife yorkshire young-adult
Website designed and created by MJV SERVICES, UNITED KINGDOM 2016 - all rights reserved.
*The author has established copyright for all work featured on this website.