BROWSE BOOK REVIEWS:

"DEVIL IN THE COUNTRYSIDE" by Cory Barclay

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, May 19, 2017 Under: Book Reviews




“Devil in the Countryside” is strange, in the respect that it deserves a huge amount of respect, while slightly disappointing in terms of its content.  By the blurb and the cover style, I was expecting a more conventional werewolf horror story; in fact, this was neither a werewolf tale as such, or part of the horror genre.  More accurate a description would be a Reformation-era whodunnit/political intrigue thriller, in the vein of “From Hell”, “The Name of the Rose”, or perhaps a Poe sleuth mystery.  The “devil” referred to in the title, the reader comes to find, does not necessarily apply to the “werewolf” itself - in fact, its metaphor can be applied to many actors in this book: the investigator, the warrior, or even the very Catholic church itself.  And I think this is exactly the ambiguity Cory Barclay intends to create.  The fact that I was expecting more conventional horror may say more about me as the reader, than it does of the book itself.  But, on that note, if it is “horror” you are expecting, or a werewolf story, this is not the book for you.

Cory clearly relishes his research.  “Devil in the Countryside” is very well-written and edited, and contains a huge amount of historical detail – as somebody uneducated in the history of Reformation-era religious politics, I can only assume that Cory has included a vast amount of historical accuracy (the book is, in fact, based on a real life case in the sixteenth century), and, in this case, I applaud him well.

The book is very interesting, though perhaps lulls a little in parts.  It clearly intends to disturb the reader with some of its more graphic details of the “judicial” process of the time, and succeeds; we are all aware of the despicable bloodlust of the justice system in those days, and sometimes it does feel as if this book has been written simply to bemoan this, or the Catholic church generally, which is not original.  That said, when the book is read as a whole, this element forms part of a much more comprehensive sum – the story is good, the historical case a well-chosen one, and Cory’s creative licence seems to add, rather than take away from this. 

Other than my only gripe about preferring to be more aware of the genre, this is a good book, written well by a strong, hard-working author.  

In : Book Reviews 


Tags: cory-barclay  historical-fiction  historical  drama  horror  werewolf  medieval  torture  catholic  fiction 
No Quarter: Dominium
***
Adventure

A Trinity of Wicked Tales
****
Horror


****
Short Stories

The Day I Made Good
****
Crime Drama

Complete Poetry of Norman AJ Berisford
*****
Poetry

Chuck the Rooster Loses His Voice
*****
Children's

Living Blind Without the Internet
****
Documentary

Devil in the Countryside
****
Historical Thriller

Monoland: Into the Gray Horizon
****
Fantasy

Corrosive
****
Horror

Woodiss is Willing
***
Comedy

The Fear
***
Horror

Superi: Reborn
*****
Fantasy

Murder in the Medical Center
***
Drama

The Eye of Nefertiti
****
Children's

Not Exactly Shakespeare
****
Comedy

Finding the Narrow Path
****
Biography

The Wyndham Werewolf
****
Short Stories

Only Human
***
Supernatural

What is Justice
**
Documentary

The Rat Tunnels of Isfahan
****
Historical Fantasy

I Once Was Lost But Now I'm Found
*****
Documentary

Never Too Late To Die
***½
Thriller

Understanding the Patterns of Your Life
***
Non-Fiction

Happiness is Just a Pill Away
*****
Comedy-Drama

The Lucky Winner
***
Crime Thriller

Endohuman
***
Sci-Fi/Fantasy

Tummy Rumble Quake
****
Children's

Monoland: The Shimmering Mist
****
Fantasy

Goodbye Butterfiles
*****
Psychology

Treading the Uneven Road
****
Short Stories

The Cuckoo Colloquium
****
Comedy

When I Turned Nineteen
*****
War Memoir

Fortuna and the Scapegrace
****
Comedy

Gnosis
***
Young Adult

Buy or Die
***
Satire

Faithful Servants
****
Drama

Ghost Dog
***
Crime Adventure

Looper
****
Drama

The Sinister Urge
**
Drama

Read to Succeed
*****
Self Improvement

Gone to the Dogs
*****
Comedy-Drama

Die Back
****
Fantasy

Finding My Platoon Brothers
*****
War Memoir

Delivering Virtue
****
Comedy

The Room Above
***
Fantasy

Written By Blood: Conviction
****
Action

The Day My Kisses Tasted Like Disorder
****
Poetry

I Have Demons
****
Short Stories

Victoria's Voice
****
Real Life

The Revolutionary Youth
*****
Drama

The Dog Thief
*****
Short Stories

Appointment With Fear
*****
Children's

Mermaids Are Real
***
Fantasy

Legends of Persia
***
Historical Fiction

My Groans Pour Out Like Water
*****
Poetry

47 Hours
*****
Political Thriller

The Road to Alexander
***
Historical Fiction

Father Divine's Bikes
****
Drama

Winning With Data
*****
Business

Aquila
****
Historical Fiction

Lions, Leopards and Storms, oh my!
***
Children's

Sparrowhawk on the Horizon
***
Historical Fiction

The Warehouse Tour
***
Short Stories

Feast of Sapphires
****
Poetry

The Night Alphabet
*****
Short Stories

Just Another Girl's Story
***
Autobiography

No-one Listens
***
Poetry

The Roving Mind
*****
Science

Malthus Revisited
***
Suspense/Thriller

My Weight Loss Journey
****
Self-Help

Change of Chaos
****
YA / Fantasy

Fish Farm
****
Thriller

Songs to New York
****
Short Stories

I Claudia
*****
Historical Fiction

God: Challenges From Philosphy and Science
****
Philosophy

The Friar's Lantern
*****
Role Play

Crazy About Kurt
****
Comedy

Dark Cure
****
Action

Translucent Boy
***
Sci-Fi Fantasy

Dart by Dale Renton
****
Sci-fi Fantasy

Monoland: Beyond the Monochrome
*****
Fantasy

Rocky Mountain Noir
***
Comedy

Rocky Mountain Noir
***
Science Fiction

Foster Care To Millionaire
****
Memoir

Flow Like A River
*****
Thriller

Secrets To Being Amazing
****
Self-Help

13 Dark Tales: Collection Two
****
Short Stories

Myth Agent
****
Fantasy

Tags

1990s a-scholte abortion abuse action addiction afterlife age ajay-shankar alcoholism alejandro-de-gutierre alexander-the-great alphabet american-comedy american-graffiti american-history ancient ancient-history animal-abuse animal-rescue animal-welfare anthology anthony-michaelides anthony-simola anti-hero anxiety arabian artificial-intelligence atlantis australia autobiography bereavement biography bittersweet bizarre blind bo-wu boats books borneo brian-kindall british business cameron-k-moore catholic cats chad-lee-erway challenge childhood childhood-trauma childrens-books christ christian christianity christina-williams christopher-adam clinchandhill clint-thurmon cody-mclain coffee-break cognitive collection colonialism comedy coming corporate-crime cory-barclay coup creatures crime criminal-justice crm cruelty cynical dale-renton dark data data-analytics david-donachie david-grad david-lee-fish demons denise-wijayaratne detective diary dictatorship diet disability dog-rescue dogs drama drugs dwayne-gill dystopian ea-minin earthquake ecological educational egyptian emergency emmanuella-hristova emotional empire environmental erotic espionage faith fallacious-rose family fantasy felicia-watson fiction fiona-green flash-fiction foster-care frances-bloom frances-newton friendship frontier funny futuristic gangster george-dalrymple george-koloukis glyn-haynie gm-o'connor god gods golf gory greg-hickey health health-and-fitness heartbreaking heather-beal henry-woodiss high-school historical historical-fiction history holistic horror illustrated immigrants incest international internet ira irish j-kariuki jacinta-jade japanese jennifer-macaire jesus jill-kearney john-paul-catton john-simpson journal jungle justice ka-cummins kurt-cobain kyla-ross l-a-macfadden lady-byrd laura-eckert laura-hergane laura-koerber legendary leigh-holland life lin-wilder lindsay-mccall lindsey-mccall lorna-brown loss lynne-renoir marc-curtis-little maria-luisa-lang marine-life mark-guillerman martin-freznell mathematics matt-nagin medical medical-drama medieval melodrama memoir mermaids michael-a.-greco michael-conlon michael-irwin michael-r-martin military mind mjl-evans monoland monologue motivational myrtle-brooks mystery mythical mythology native-american natural-disaster navy new-jersey new-york nick-dream nirvana non-fiction norman-aj-berisford northern-ireland novella nutrition observations of oppression otherworld outback pablo-palazuelo persia personal-development peter-learm pharaoh philosophy pirates platoon poetry political political-thriller pop-culture prison pro-life psychology pulp-fiction purgatory puzzle race racial rae-louise rainforest reading real-life redemption reference regime relationship religion religious remorse revolutionary richard-bunning richard-hacker rick-hall robert-kingett role-play roman romania rural sailing sailors satire sci-fi science scientist seafaring self-confidence self-esteem self-help series sexual sexual-harassment short-stories sigal-haber sitcom slavery slice-of-life society sociopath soldier special-forces sports spy-thriller stage-fright stan-skrabut steve-bassett study superhero supernatural superstition surreal suspense swashbuckling teamwork technology teen teenager the-troubles theodor theological thriller tim time-travel tom-hoffman tomi-farrell torture tough-guy tragedy trilogy true-story tv-shows undersea vampire venezuela ventskevitch veteran vietnam vietnam-war vigilante vince-rockston violent walt-sautter war war-memoir weight-loss well-being werewolf western white wildlife will-link yorkshire young-adult
Author Matt McAvoy
Website designed and created by MJV SERVICES, UNITED KINGDOM 2016 - all rights reserved.
*The author has established copyright for all work featured on this website.