Showing Tag: "historical" (Show all posts)

"I, CLAUDIA" BY LIN WILDER

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Thursday, April 4, 2019, In : Book Reviews 



Lin Wilder is a tremendously good author, on the highest tiers of quality, and with her books, you are always treated to a masterclass in author research for fiction.  “I, Claudia” revels in this, giving Lin the perfect vehicle to apply this trade – and “trade” is the perfect word to describe Lin’s work, as she goes about her business of historical research with the thoroughness of a data analyst.  Additionally, if you were in any doubt about the credibility, she readily reference...


Continue reading ...
 

"FORTUNA AND THE SCAPEGRACE" BY BRIAN KINDALL

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Thursday, March 28, 2019, In : Book Reviews 

There is a wonderful, melodious tone of voice to Brian Kindall’s writing – his language is always classical and sometimes sublime – the nineteenth-century San Francisco prospectors’ era effortlessly permeates every carefully chose word and sentence and his knowledge of American historical setting appears almost innate, as he places you, vividly at every scene.  In a nutshell, he is a tremendously talented author.

But, as with most creative talents, there is a flaw on the flip-side.  ...


Continue reading ...
 

"DIE BACK" by Richard Hacker

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Thursday, February 7, 2019, In : Book Reviews 


Nicely written by a good quality, professional author, this fantasy is more a time-travelling actioner, which is exciting and engaging.  Richard Hacker has a good knowledge of history, and has done his research very well, but, gladly, doesn’t overplay it – the focus of this book is the formula, with its 3 acts, its heroes, love interest and a ruthless super-villain, who craves no less than total domination of the space-time continuum. 

The story is a good, interesting one; the ability o...


Continue reading ...
 

"LEGENDS OF PERSIA" BY JENNIFER MACAIRE

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Wednesday, October 24, 2018, In : Book Reviews 




I was quite critical of the first instalment of the Alexander series, so did try to read Jennifer’s review copy of the first sequel with an open mind.  She is something of an oxymoron, in that she is an extremely talented author, with a fantastic writing style and an undeniable knowledge of not only her subject, but her craft, yet her choice of storyline and genre is at best a little immature, and at worst somewhat offensive.

As a semi-fictional account of the life of Alexander the Great a...


Continue reading ...
 

"THE ROAD TO ALEXANDER" BY JENNIFER MACAIRE

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Tuesday, August 14, 2018, In : Book Reviews 


“The Road to Alexander” is one of the strangest books I have ever been asked to review, in that it is possibly the most contrary.  Ordinarily, I love books which cross genres, if done well, and this book certainly does that.  It doesn’t take itself too seriously – at least, surely it can’t – and seems, for the most part, to have its tongue buried very firmly in its cheek. 

The premise is an interesting one: a time-travelling journalist from the future returns to the 4th century ...


Continue reading ...
 

"SPARROWHAWK ON THE HORIZON" BY A. SCHOLTE

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Tuesday, June 19, 2018, In : Book Reviews 



The moment you begin reading “Sparrowhawk on the Horizon”, you know immediately it is an undeniable work of quality.  Scholte is an articulate, educated and highly professional author, who evidently spent ten years researching and creating this book; her diligence shows. 

Her informative semi-factual account of the birth of the Americas Cup is a homage to the time – a period of innovative ship-building, in the years following the Industrial Revolution – and provides a deep insight i...


Continue reading ...
 

"AQUILA: CAN SILVANUS ESCAPE THAT GOD?" BY VINCE ROCKSTON

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, June 1, 2018, In : Book Reviews 



I’ll be honest, “Aquila…” is far from the action adventure I was expecting, and I would strongly advise that to fully enjoy this book, the reader needs to understand what it is about.  In this respect, I would say that the blurb is a touch misleading - there is no action element, and in some ways a huge aspect of historical non-fiction.  I won’t say I was disappointed, because as soon as it become clear what Rockston’s tale is (about midway), I developed a whole new respect for it...


Continue reading ...
 

"THE RAT TUNNELS OF ISFAHAN" By Alejandro de Gutierre

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Saturday, November 11, 2017, In : Book Reviews 





Within just a few sentences of starting to read it became clear to me that this is a work of quality from a good, professional author.  The language, grammar and formatting are all close to perfect and, from the very first line, Alejandro draws the reader into a vivid and well-crafted tale.  The opening chapter is intriguing, horrifying and gripping, and I have to be honest: I read the whole thing from cover to cover in a very short space of time.  We are quickly personally enveloped in the p...

Continue reading ...
 

"THE EYE OF NEFERTITI: A PHARAOH'S CAT NOVEL" By Maria Luisa Lang

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Saturday, September 16, 2017, In : Book Reviews 


Although I knew this book was the second in a series, I hadn’t read the first, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect.  It was very quickly clear (at least to me) that “The Eye of Nefertiti” is aimed at slightly older children – perhaps pre- or early-teen (though, if this is the case, it should be said that some of the language might be a touch coarse). 

Straight away this book is light-hearted and fun, tinged with a great harmless humour throughout. Although it is a sequel, it is ...


Continue reading ...
 

"DEVIL IN THE COUNTRYSIDE" by Cory Barclay

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, May 19, 2017, In : Book Reviews 




“Devil in the Countryside” is strange, in the respect that it deserves a huge amount of respect, while slightly disappointing in terms of its content.  By the blurb and the cover style, I was expecting a more conventional werewolf horror story; in fact, this was neither a werewolf tale as such, or part of the horror genre.  More accurate a description would be a Reformation-era whodunnit/political intrigue thriller, in the vein of “From Hell”, “The Name of the Rose”, or perhaps ...


Continue reading ...
 

"NO QUARTER - DOMINIUM: VOLUME 1" by MJL Evans & GM O'Connor

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Wednesday, January 25, 2017, In : Book Reviews 



I have to be honest, I felt a little cheated by this book. Obviously, I was aware at the time of reading that it was volume 1 of a 6-part series, but, from a simple viewpoint, it took a little while to start coming together, and then ended abruptly just as it looked as though it were about to.

Set in colonial-era Jamaica, this book opens in dramatic fashion (a shipwreck in a hurricane), and we are transported instantly into a world of slavery, cut-throat pirates and imperial elitism, promisi...

Continue reading ...
 
 
LATEST BOOK REVIEWS:

****
Drama


*****
Role Play


****
Drama


***
Satire


****
Comedy


****
Comedy


****
Comedy


****
Fantasy


*****
Self Improvement


****
Action


****
Short Stories


***
Historical Fiction


*****
Children's


*****
Drama


****
Drama


*****
Political Thriller


***
Short Stories


****
Poetry


****
Historical Fiction


***
Autobiography


****
Philosophy


****
Thriller


****
YA / Fantasy


****
Children's


***
Suspense/Thriller


***
Sci-Fi/Fantasy


***
Adventure


****
Horror


****
Short Stories


****
Crime Drama


*****
Poetry


*****
Children's


****
Documentary


****
Historical Thriller


****
Fantasy


****
Horror


***
Comedy


***
Horror


*****
Comedy-Drama


****
Comedy


***
Crime Adventure


***
Young Adult


*****
Historical Fiction


*****
War Memoir


****
Short Stories


*****
War Memoir


****
Real Life


*****
Comedy-Drama


***
Fantasy


****
Poetry


*****
Short Stories


***
Fantasy


*****
Business


***
Historical Fiction


***
Children's


*****
Poetry


***
Historical Fiction


*****
Science


***
Poetry


*****
Short Stories


*****
Self-Help


****
Fantasy


****
Self-Help


****
Short Stories


*****
Fantasy


***
Drama


****
Children's


****
Comedy


****
Biography


****
Short Stories


***
Supernatural


**
Documentary


****
Historical Fantasy


*****
Documentary


***½
Thriller


***
Non-Fiction


***
Crime Thriller

Tags

1990s a-scholte abortion abuse action addiction afterlife age ajay-shankar alejandro-de-gutierre alexander-the-great alphabet american-comedy american-graffiti american-history ancient ancient-history animal-abuse animal-rescue animal-welfare anthology anthony-michaelides anthony-simola anti-hero anxiety arabian artificial-intelligence atlantis australia autobiography bereavement biography bittersweet bizarre blind bo-wu boats books borneo brian-kindall british business catholic cats chad-lee-erway challenge childhood children's christ christian christianity christina-williams christopher-adam clinchandhill clint-thurmon coffee-break cognitive collection colonialism comedy coming corporate-crime cory-barclay coup creatures crime criminal-justice crm cruelty cynical dark data data-analytics david-donachie david-grad david-lee-fish demons detective diary dictatorship diet disability dog-rescue dogs drama drugs dwayne-gill dystopian ea-minin earthquake ecological educational egyptian emergency emmanuella-hristova emotional empire environmental espionage faith fallacious-rose family fantasy fiction fiona-green flash-fiction frances-bloom friendship frontier funny futuristic george-dalrymple george-koloukis glyn-haynie gm-o'connor god gods golf gory greg-hickey health health-and-fitness heartbreaking heather-beal henry-woodiss high-school historical historical-fiction history holistic horror illustrated immigrants international internet ira irish j-kariuki jacinta-jade jennifer-macaire jesus jill-kearney john-simpson journal jungle justice ka-cummins kurt-cobain kyla-ross lady-byrd laura-eckert laura-hergane laura-koerber legendary leigh-holland life lin-wilder lindsay-mccall lindsey-mccall lorna-brown loss lynne-renoir marc-curtis-little maria-luisa-lang marine-life martin-freznell mathematics matt-nagin medical medical-drama medieval melodrama memoir mermaids michael-a.-greco michael-conlon michael-irwin military mind mjl-evans monoland monologue myrtle-brooks mystery mythical natural-disaster navy new-jersey new-york nick-dream nirvana non-fiction norman-aj-berisford northern-ireland novella nutrition observations of oppression otherworld outback pablo-palazuelo persia personal-development pharaoh philosophy pirates platoon poetry political political-thriller pop-culture prison pro-life psychology purgatory puzzle race racial rae-louise rainforest reading real-life redemption reference regime relationship religion religious remorse revolutionary richard-bunning richard-hacker rick-hall robert-kingett role-play roman romania rural sailing sailors satire sci-fi science seafaring self-confidence self-help sexual sexual-harassment short-stories sigal-haber sitcom slavery slice-of-life society sociopath soldier special-forces sports spy-thriller stage-fright stan-skrabut steve-bassett study superhero supernatural superstition surreal swashbuckling teamwork technology teen teenager the-troubles theodor theological thriller tim time-travel tomi-farrell torture tough-guy tragedy true-story tv-shows undersea vampire venezuela ventskevitch veteran vietnam vietnam-war vigilante vince-rockston violent walt-sautter war war-memoir weight-loss well-being werewolf western white wildlife will-link yorkshire young-adult
Website designed and created by MJV SERVICES, UNITED KINGDOM 2016 - all rights reserved.
*The author has established copyright for all work featured on this website.