Browsing Archive: May, 2017

"Woodiss is Willing" by Henry Woodiss

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Sunday, May 28, 2017, In : Book Reviews 




Immediately when you start reading this book, it gives the impression of being a lot of fun – humorous, cheeky and entertaining, and straight away the author (who, confusingly, is not the editor who wrote the alluring foreword), displays a great degree of good, old-fashioned English sense of humour, from a time before it perished at the hands of political correctness; and this is very welcome.  The first quarter of the book reads like a “Carry On…” movie with a modern-day 18-certifica...


Continue reading ...
 

"Monoland: Into The Gray Horizon" by E.A. Minin

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, May 19, 2017, In : Book Reviews 




I was drawn to “Monoland: Into The Gray Horizon” by the cover and the premise: that of a young man trapped in a “land of grey”, immediately following the moment of his death.

“Monoland” is another name for Purgatory – it is neither Heaven or Hell, but a biblical world in between, which runs parallel to our own dimension, here on Earth.  The book deals with some interesting concepts: the feelings of love and loss, the realization that eternity is forever, and a being has to carve ...


Continue reading ...
 

"DEVIL IN THE COUNTRYSIDE" by Cory Barclay

Posted by Matt McAvoy on Friday, May 19, 2017, In : Book Reviews 



“Devil in the Countryside” is strange, in the respect that it deserves a huge amount of respect, while slightly disappointing in terms of its content.  By the blurb and the cover style, I was expecting a more conventional werewolf horror story; in fact, this was neither a werewolf tale as such, or part of the horror genre.  More accurate a description would be a Reformation-era whodunnit/political intrigue thriller, in the vein of “From Hell”, “The Name of the Rose”, or perhaps ...


Continue reading ...
 
 

MORE BOOK REVIEWS:


***
Adventure


****
Horror


****
Short Stories


****
Crime Drama


*****
Poetry


*****
Children's


****
Documentary


****
Historical Thriller


****
Fantasy


****
Horror


***
Comedy


***
Horror


****
Fantasy


***
Drama


****
Children's


****
Comedy


****
Biography


****
Short Stories


***
Supernatural


**
Documentary


****
Historical Fantasy


*****
Documentary


***½
Thriller

Website designed and created by MJV SERVICES 2016 - all rights reserved.
*The author has established copyright for all work featured on this website.
SITEMAP | ABOUT ME |  CONTACT